firmterew.blogg.se

Disney movie queen of katwe
Disney movie queen of katwe







disney movie queen of katwe

I especially liked Lupita Nyong'o's portrayal of the mother of Phiona - the main hero of the story. It added up on the scale of authenticity and I bet it helped to facilitate actors performance as well- which is also on very high level. For me, it was refreshing to see finally a good movie set out in Africa and even more so, I applaud the director's decision to shoot it in actual Katwe. That, and perhaps the African accent that to some western ears may sound "too stupid and slow", so people often correlate that with intelligence of people who speak it. I think that the main reason this movie didn't succeed much in USA or Europe on commercial merit is that people didn't really get through those clichés yet. I am glad I finally watched it today, as it successfully managed to avoid clichés and 2D story-line so often seen in this genre and clichés of over-romanticizing of poverty and Africa in general. There were things that discouraged me to prioritize this movie before all the other I have seen from 2016 so far - like its Disney poster, its genre of "from the bottom to the top" (always a danger to fall into clichés), and lack of exposure and reviews. You may be thinking these two students whose real lives were portrayed in a Disney movie should be millionaires, but because Disney lost money making the film, neither Mutesi or Mukumbya made any money by sharing their stories for the film.I was hesitant to see the movie, although I marked it for my 2016 must watch list some time ago. “I’m so grateful I never imagined someone would come out and just support someone they don’t know,” said Mutesi. The students are several thousand dollars short of paying their fees. That’s why the chess tournament fundraiser is so important. Challenge is coming from Uganda they couldn’t afford the living expenses,” said Neff.

DISNEY MOVIE QUEEN OF KATWE FULL

“Both students got a full tuition offer to go to northwest. “Which was something so incredible, I never imagined it,” said Mutesi. The President of the University offered both Phiona and Benjamin Mukumbya a scholarship to the university. The movie shows how chess helped her rise from homelessness, begging on the streets to being a heroine of her community.ĭuring the promotional tours of the book, she and another character from the movie came to the US and met Elliott Neff, the founder of Chess for Life. “I went to the chess program just to get what to eat but I ended up learning chess.”

disney movie queen of katwe

I lost my dad when I was three years old and during that time my mom did not go to school and we didn’t have anything,” said Mutesi. It was a stiff learning curve for Phiona Mutesi from Uganda. “You can win, you can draw or you can learn,” said Chess for Life Founder Elliott Neff. The game of chess is a lot like the game of life. Saturday, her classmates and faculty are stepping up to make her reality even better.









Disney movie queen of katwe